Annual Meeting

EPA conference 2021

The March 5-6, 2021 EPA program and calendar are now available here.  

Niels Peter Rygaard gave one of the many excellent international program presentations at the 2021 EPA virtual meeting.  Click on the following link to view Dr. Rygaard's new 11-minute video highlighting his remarkable cross-national research with 40,000 children.  The video is a preview of his 2021 APA International Award presentation.

EPA 2022

On March 3-5, we will be returning to an in-person conference with the 93rd Meeting of the EPA at the Marriott Marquis in New York City.  A huge and sincere "thank you" to everyone who participated in the 2020 and 2021 virtual meetings, which despite the change in format due to the pandemic, continued EPA's tradition of bringing exciting science to our members in the form of keynote addresses, symposia, oral presentations and posters.  Those meetings also featured our exhibitors who continue to support EPA and offer our members the latest information about graduate programs, new books and insurance programs.  We are grateful to everyone for their patience and flexibility as the virtual formats were often a challenge, even for the generation raised on computer technology, social media and the like.  

We fully expect the 2022 conference will take place in an environment that is clean, safe and comfortable.  We will be meeting with managers at the Marriott Marquis to ensure that they will continue to provide sleeping and meeting rooms that meet the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort and that adhere to all CDC guidelines of safety.  Moreover, during the past two years, we learned that masks are an effective and simple tool to control the flu and the common cold, as well as COVID-19.  Therefore, masks will be welcome at our meeting.  For any questions about our health and safety plan for the 2022 meeting, direct your inquiries to 

The 2022 call for programs will go out in early September. Please watch this space for updates and further information about the meeting. 

Please remember that only Members, Fellows, and Associates with an expiration date of May 31, 2022, may submit proposals for the meeting. The submission deadline is November 15, 2021.  If you are planning to submit a proposal, please do not wait until the last moment to pay dues, as payments may take up to 48 hours to process. All associates must have a faculty sponsor who, at the time of the submission, is a current EPA Member with dues paid for the current year (exp. 5/31/2022).

As in recent years, another call for proposals for a special undergraduate poster session will be issued later, with a December 1, 2021 deadline.

Anniversary Society:  To acknowledge and celebrate EPA’s 125th anniversary (2020), the EPA Board of Directors established a new category of membership, the Anniversary Society.  This level of membership is available to all members and fellows.  Membership in the Anniversary Society signifies a special commitment to EPA’s mission and carries a number of additional external benefits:  a designation in the program as a “125th year member,” a hardcopy of the 2022 program, recognition at the meeting, and additional EPA merchandise.  The cost of joining EPA as an Anniversary Society member is $125.  

Dues:  EPA dues/meeting registration is $75 for Members and Fellows, and $30 for Associates. There are no additional registration fees.  Since the EPA fiscal year begins on June 1 and ends on May 31, pay your dues now and know that you are paid up through the meeting and until May 31 of next year.  To pay dues, click on Join EPA or on Renew Your Membership. You will then be given the option to renew as an Anniversary Society member (or decline).  Use your credit card to pay your dues.

The 2022 virtual meeting will continue EPA's tradition of offering cutting edge developments in psychological science, application and teaching in the form of exciting lectures, symposia and posters.  Here are some of our keynote speakers.  Titles and abstracts will follow soon.

Presidential keynote:  Claude Steele (Stanford University)

Clinical/Applied keynote:  Steven Lynn, Ph.D. (Binghamton, SUNY)

Behavioral Neuroscience keynote:  Shenna Josslyn, Ph.D. (Univ. Toronto)

Cognitive keynote:  Sandeep Prasada, Ph.D. (Hunter, CUNY)

History keynote: Peter Hegarty, Ph.D. (The Open University)

International keynote: Qi Wang, Ph.D. (Cornell)

Learning keynote:  Sanne de Wit, Ph.D. (University of Amsterdam)

Psi Chi keynote:  Sharon Manne, Ph.D. (Rutgers)

Teaching keynote:  Lindsay Masland, Ph.D. (Appalachian State)

Developmental keynote:  Marjorie Rhodes (NYU)

Social keynote:  TBA

Virginia Staudt Sexton distinguished lecture:  Maria Rivera Maulacci, Ph.D. (Barnard/Columbia)

image widget